2020 Irish Champion Stakes Live

2020 Irish Champion Stakes Live: 2020 Irish Champion Stakes Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets The highlight on day one of Irish Champions Weekend is the Irish Champion Stakes.


This Group One is one of the most prestigious in all of Irish Flat racing. Run over 1m 2f, some of the best horses in the world have won the Irish Champion Stakes, and claimed the highly-lucrative first prize. A top-quality field will line up in this year’s Irish Champion Stakes, and it’s sure to make for compelling viewing. 2020 Irish Champion Stakes Key Facts Date Saturday, 12th September, 2020 Course Leopardstown Status Group One Distance 1m2f Race Type Set Weights First Prize € 427,500 Age 3YO+ 2020 Irish Champion Stakes Odds Name Best Odds Top Bookie Ghaiyyath 6/4 Paddy Power Magical 2/1 William Hill Alpine Star 6/1 William Hill Lord North 8/1 Paddy Power Fancy Blue 11/1 Betfair Sottsass 12/1 Paddy Power Japan 12/1 William Hill Headman 12/1 Betfair 2020 Irish Champion Stakes Tips Irish Champions Weekend organisers rejoiced when Charlie Appleby said the Irish Champion Stakes was on Ghaiyyath’s radar. The world’s highest-rated middle-distance horse remained in the field at the seven-day entry stage, and he could square off against Magical and Lord North again – having beaten both in the Juddmonte International Stakes. We’ll have our guide to the 2020 Irish Champion Stakes published during the week. Irish Champion Stakes Day Card Time Course Title 1:55pm Leopardstown Ingabelle Stakes (Listed) 7f 2:30pm Leopardstown Petingo Handicap (Premier Handicap) 3:05pm Leopardstown Champions Juvenile Stakes (Group 2) 3:40pm Leopardstown Paddy Power Stakes (Group 3) 1m4f 4:15pm Leopardstown QIPCO Irish Champion Stakes (Group 4:50pm Leopardstown Boomerang Stakes (Group 2) 1m 5:25pm Leopardstown Matron Stakes (Group 1) 1m 6:00pm Leopardstown Sovereign Path Handicap (Premier Handicap) 7f Irish Champion Stakes History The Irish Champion Stakes is one of the most prestigious flat races in Irish Racing. The race is open to three-year-olds and above, and a trip of one-and-a-quarter-miles will have to be completed. The Irish Champion Stakes was first run at Leopardstown in 1986. It’s a Group One race sponsored by QIPCO and is part of the Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series, with the winner guaranteeing them a place in the Breeders’ Cup Turf later in November. Winners of the Irish Champion Stakes often go on to run in the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe – Europe’s most prestigious flat race. The first horse to win both races in the same season was Carroll House, who scored at Leopardstown and Longchamp under Mick Kinane in 1989. Dylan Thomas is the only horse to win the Irish Champion Stakes twice, successfully retaining his crown in 2007. Aidan O’Brien’s star also won the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe later than autumn. Three other legends of the game managed to win the Irish Champion Stakes and the Arc in the same season. Suave Dancer managed it in 1991. Sea The Stars landed the double in 2009, six years before Golden Horn won both races under Frankie Dettori. Although the race is staged in Ireland, British trainers have enjoyed plenty of success in this Group One. Henry Cecil, Sir Michael Stoute, Ed Dunlop and Kevin Ryan have all saddled winners of the Irish Champion Stakes. Roger Charlton’s first victory came in 2017, when five-year-old Decorated Knight defeated his Irish rivals. John Gosden then celebrated his third win the following year, as Roaring Lion defeated Saxon Warrior in stunning fashion. Aidan O’Brien is the most successful trainer in the history of the Irish Champion Stakes. Aidan’s first winner came in 2000 when Giants Causeway won. His eighth and most recent triumph came in 2020, when top-mare Magical headed a 1-2-3 for Ballydoyle. Irish Champion Stakes Winners Year Winner 2019 Magical 2018 Roaring Lion 2017 Decorated Knight 2016 Almanzor 2015 Golden Horn 2014 The Grey Gatsby 2013 The Fugue 2012 Snow Fairy 2011 So You Think 2010 Cape Blanco 2009 Sea The Stars 2008 New Approach 2007 Dylan Thomas 2006 Dylan Thomas 2005 Oratorio 2004 Azamour 2003 High Chaparral 2002 Grandera Irish Champion Stakes FAQs When is the Irish Champion Stakes? The 2020 Irish Champion Stakes will be run at 4:10pm at Leopardstown on Saturday 12th September. What is the Irish Champion Stakes? The Irish Champion Stakes is a Group One race staged at Leopardstown in September. It’s the feature race on day one of Irish Champions Weekend. The race is open to three-year-olds and above, and the trip is 1m 2f. Who won the Irish Champion Stakes? The 2019 Irish Champion Stakes was won by Magical, who held off the colts to head a 1-2-3 in the race for trainer Aidan O’Brien. Who is the favourite for the Irish Champion Stakes? The betting for the 2020 Irish Champion Stakes is headed by Ghaiyyath, who’s already won three Group One races this season. Defending champion, Magical is the second favourite. Where can I watch the Irish Champion Stakes? The 2020 Irish Champion Stakes will be shown live on Racing TV. If you want to watch the race via your mobile or tablet, then check out our Live Streaming page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *